Windows 11 Is Getting a More Secure Way to Erase Data Before a Reset
Microsoft wants to ensure leftover data can’t be recovered after a Windows reset. Image: BoliviaInteligente/Unsplash
Windows 11 is testing storage sanitization in Cloud Rebuild, giving users and IT teams a stronger option for erasing PCs before reassignment or sale.
Sep 23, 2026
We may earn from vendors via affiliate links or sponsorships. This might affect product placement on our site, but not the content of our reviews. See our Terms of Use for details.
Ever reset a PC before selling or giving it away and wondered whether someone could still recover your old files? Microsoft is adding a Windows 11 option designed to make that much harder.
A new storage-sanitization option in Cloud Rebuild can instruct a PC’s storage hardware to securely erase data before Windows is reinstalled. Microsoft says that differs from simply removing files, which is faster but may leave data recoverable with specialized tools.
The feature is...
Copyright of this story solely belongs to www.techrepublic.com. To see the full text click HERE