Clicking 'Allow' on a Google and Microsoft permission screens could give hackers access to your entire…

https://cdn.mos.cms.futurecdn.net/vg86aqqGf8Pqp6mnfQPGGf-1920-80.jpg
  • FBI warns of rising OAuth consent phishing attacks exploiting legitimate app permissions
  • Victims tricked into granting malicious apps access, enabling email reading and sending
  • Password changes don’t help; users must revoke tokens in app security settings

Hackers found a way to access your data, read your messages, and even send emails to your contacts, without ever needing your password or other login credentials. All they need from you is a single click on a completely legitimate, well-known platform.

The technique is called “OAuth consent phishing”. It’s been around for more than a year and it’s gotten popular to a point where even the FBI is taking note. Earlier this week, the law enforcement agency issued a new public service announcement, via its Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3), warning Americans about the threat.

OAuth (Open Authorization) is an internet standard that allows users to give apps access to their account on...

Copyright of this story solely belongs to techradar.com. To see the full text click HERE

Read more