Anthropic's Claude and Cowork will share memories about you now - unless you opt out

https://www.zdnet.com/a/img/resize/1b5d36a0ff3d37a3885d7f20a3ee2943de94250f/2026/08/25/246fe88c-d3bb-42c4-87ae-b5db2ccfdf07/anthropics-claude-memory-upgrade-is-useful-powerful-and-slightly...

Follow ZDNET: Add us as a preferred source on Google.


ZDNET's key takeaways

  • Claude chat and Cowork now share one memory system.
  • Memory updates as you chat, with sensitive-data controls.
  • The productivity boost comes with serious privacy tradeoffs.

Today, Anthropic announced the merger of the memory systems for Claude chat and Claude Cowork.

"Starting today, the memory you use in chat is the same as in Claude Cowork. Now, wherever you work with Claude, it starts from what it already knows about you," said Anthropic.

Memory is now two-way. What you do in Claude chat is remembered by Claude Cowork. What you do in Cowork is remembered in chat. It seems that what happens in Claude Code still stays in Claude Code. The company made no mention of Claude Code whatsoever in the announcement. When I asked, I was told this update is "focused on Claude Cowork and chat."

Progress...

Copyright of this story solely belongs to zdnet.com. To see the full text click HERE